Author Topic: Is there a way to prevent two agents from registering as the same DN?  (Read 9090 times)

Offline smeatonj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Within our softphone applications, if two agents try to log in with the same DN extension, whatever card on the PBX that is hosting that extension will reset. Is there a way to restrict two agents from registering the same extension with the platform SDK, or with settings within Genesys?

At the moment we enforce only one agent per extension manually with a DB driven application.

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7639
  • Karma: 56330
1. I'd rather ask to the PBX provider why does the board resets?
2. TServer should prevent such event with a response saying that an agent is already logged in.

Offline René

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1832
  • Karma: 62
Hi,

I'm not able to tell why you PBX resets the card when an agent tries to login on occupied extension. I think it is worth to ask PBX guys to investigate on this as it doesn't seem to be normal situation.

Your softphone application shall check extension status before allowing an agent log in. Such information is propagated by TServer when extension (DN) is registered by softphone or using TLibrary request "RequestQueryAddress".

R.

Offline smeatonj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
I'm assuming we send the RequestQueryAddress from the softphone application to check the current status of the DN. I'm not sure what the status should be for either case, and can't seem to find an Enumeration. Am I checking the right property of the response?

[code]

            RequestQueryAddress checkDN = RequestQueryAddress.Create(
                    dn, AddressType.DN, AddressInfoType.DNStatus);
           
            IMessage response = tServerProtocol.Request(checkDN);
           
            switch(response.Id)
            {
                case EventAddressInfo.MessageId:
                    EventAddressInfo info = (EventAddressInfo) response;
                    if (info.AddressInfoStatus == ?)
                    {
                       
                    }
            }
[/code]

Offline René

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1832
  • Karma: 62
Hi,

Please check this post - http://www.sggu.com/smf/index.php/topic,4051.0.html.

R.

Offline jamesmurphyau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: 2
I work at the same place as smeatonj...

The reason the card resets is not because two agents are logged in at once, but because of the way the softphone is working.

When the second softphone registers, it tried to go not ready - the first softphone knows it shouldn't be in not ready, so it goes in ready - then they go nuts and fight to be in their state, sending heaps of ready/not ready requests to TServer - this crashs the PABX card disconnecting all calls (its on Alcatel)

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7639
  • Karma: 56330
:o hehe well honestly I have tested this scenarios always and never got a board reset.
Questions:
1. Version of OXE.
2. Type of set used,digital? analog? software? If digital please indicate model
3. PG of type ACD or RSI?
4. Why does it tries to go to Not Ready? Can you explain the scenario better?

Offline jamesmurphyau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: 2
1. 8
2. Agents use 4035 Advanced Reflex Handset (http://www.infinititelecommunications.com.au/images/alcatel_Advanced_Reflexes.jpg)
3. The agents are logged into ACD PGs
4. I'm not sure of the full situation - All I know is the reason they reset is (well, it resets right after) two softphones fight to be in one state (weather it be not ready or ready). An example would be when one agent is logged in but in wrap up & not ready. Then the second agent logs in and goes in a ready state. When the first agent's softphone sees this event, it realises it's in wrap up and tries to go not ready again. the second softphone sees this event and asks to go in a ready state. this keeps goin (lots of events per second)

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7639
  • Karma: 56330
Do you know if they are connected to an UA or eUA board?

Offline jamesmurphyau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: 2
eUA

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7639
  • Karma: 56330
Re: Is there a way to prevent two agents from registering as the same DN?
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2009, 04:16:53 AM »
Can you please provide the exact version of OXE R8?

Offline jamesmurphyau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: 2
Re: Is there a way to prevent two agents from registering as the same DN?
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2009, 04:32:21 AM »
Does this help?

R8.0-g1.302-11-a-as-c0

Business identification: R8.0

Release:
DELIVERY g1.302
Patch identification: 11
Dynamic patch identification: a

This has been happening a while though, since version 7 at least, maybe also version 6.

It seems like normal (well, at least not unreasonable) behavior though, and a softphone error/issue (not PABX/Genesys issue).
The genesys log files get filled with thousands+ events and it sends all these messages to the switch requesting the different states...

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7639
  • Karma: 56330
Re: Is there a way to prevent two agents from registering as the same DN?
« Reply #12 on: June 19, 2009, 05:12:42 AM »
I'm actually testing with IPTouchs and trust me, this is not a normal behaviour. When you talk about softphones you talk about GAD? GCN? Own cti softphone?

Offline jamesmurphyau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: 2
Re: Is there a way to prevent two agents from registering as the same DN?
« Reply #13 on: June 19, 2009, 05:35:38 AM »
Our own custom CTI softphone

There is a work around forcing only one agent to one DN at a time but it's not am ideal solution as far as I know (I don't work on softphones)

Still works though..

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7639
  • Karma: 56330
Re: Is there a way to prevent two agents from registering as the same DN?
« Reply #14 on: June 19, 2009, 06:33:56 AM »
Ok I have been testing over and over and doing every strange thing that I can imagine and there is no way that TServer allows the login of 2 agents on 1 single DN, this is error that I get when second agent tries to login:

[quote]
19/06/2009@01:24:06.539
 Event:EventError
  Server:65200
  ReferenceID:5
  CustomerID:Resources
  AgentID:597073
  ErrorCode:1161
  ErrorMessage:Incorrect object state
  ThisDN:5061
  ThisQueue:598020
  Extensions:
     (Int) GCTI_SOURCE_ERROR_TYPE         2
     (Int) GCTI_SOURCE_ERROR_CODE         2
  Seconds:1245392649
  USeconds:136000
  Server Time:19/06/2009@01:24:09.136
[/quote]

So if agent is not logged in then there is no way you can send a TReady event as TServer will reject it.
Last thing, can you post your TServer configuration?
Also, if you can reproduce the error and capture TServer logs will be great.